Champions Twenty 20

Cricket Ball

2012 Champions Twenty 20 cricket tournament

The 2012 Twenty 20 Champions League cricket tournament gets underway in South Africa on Saturday 13 October, with the Champions League Final taking place in Johannesburg on Sunday 28 October.  Ten teams will participate as two groups of five, and the two teams at the head of each group will proceed to the semi-finals, which will be held on Thursday 25 and Friday 26 October. The whole competition consists of 23 matches, so there are plenty of Twenty20 Champions League betting opportunities available for anyone who knows their cricket and fancies trying to make a profit from the event.

There have been three Twenty20 Champions League competitions so far, with the New South Wales Blues winning in 2009, the Chennai Super Kings winning in 2010 and the Mumbai Indians winning in 2011. The last two teams mentioned are both in contention this year too, so it will be interesting to see how they fare in the 2012 competition.


Champions Twenty 20 Cricket teams

The ten teams that are participating in the 2011 Champions Twenty20 tournament are playing in two groups, as follows:


  • Auckland Aces
  • Delhi Daredevils
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Perth Scorchers
  • Titans


  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Highveld Lions
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Sydney Sixers
  • Yorkshire


Champions Twenty20 Betting Odds

At the time of writing, the Delhi Daredevils are the 9/2 favourites in the Outright Winner market with the popular sports betting site Paddy Power, but the Chennai Super Kings are only a fraction behind at 5/1. The next two in the very early betting stages are the Mumbai Indians and the Kolkata Knight Riders, and the odds available about both of these teams are 11/2. The first eight in the betting right now are as follows:

  • Delhi Daredevils 9/2

  • Chennai Super Kings 5/1

  • Kolkata Knight Riders 5/1

  • Mumbai Indians 11/2

  • Sydney Sixers 13/2

  • Perth Scorchers 8/1

  • Titans 9/1

  • Auckland 12/1

  • Lions 12/1

  • Yorkshire 14/1

Although it should go without saying that every team involved in the 2012 Twenty20 Champions League has a chance of winning, the early betting market above is a fairly accurate reflection of expectations according to previous form. The first four in the betting were the best four teams in the 2012 Indian Premier League competition, which the Kolkata Knight Riders won by beating the Chennai Super Kings. The Delhi Daredevils and Mumbai Indians finished the IPL competition in third and fourth place, respectively. If that form is repeated then the 2012 Twenty20 Champions League title could well be taken by one of those very same teams.


If you like the odds that are currently being offered about any of the teams involved in the 2012 Twenty20 Champions League competition, you might want to strike an early bet and take the odds whilst you can.